Shape 8


Zur DEUTSCHEN SEITE geht es hier:
Click above to visit the German site.



Social Media


Enter your email address:

DBZ Ntuli PDF Print E-mail

Deuteronomy Bhekinkosi ‘DBZ’ Ntuli (1940 - ) was born at on the 8th of May in Gcotsheni, Eshowe. He matriculated at St Francis College, Mariannhill, and completed his junior degree at the University College of Zululand. After working for three years as an announcer/producer for the Zulu service of the SABC, he joined the staff of the University of South Africa (UNISA) as a lecturer in the Department of African Languages. In 1978 he was awarded a D Litt degree and he was head of the Sub-department of Zulu before his retirement in 1999 after thirty-two years of service at UNISA. He was twenty-one years of age when his first book, a novel, UBheka, was published.

His second novel Ngiyoze ngimthole was published eight years later. It is in the category of short stories and essays that Ntuli has contributed most. To date he has published sixteen volumes of short stories and essays – including ten books of drama and eight anthologies of poetry he authored or co-authored or edited. He has translated into IsiZulu numerous manuals and books, the most outstanding ones of which are Nelson Mandela’s Long Walk to Freedom (Uhambo olude oluya enkululekweni) and Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet (UMpholofethi). Ntuli has won about twenty awards for his various literary works. On four occasions, over the past twenty years he won the BW Vilakazi Award, the most prestigious award for IsiZulu literature, for his books: Imicibisholo and Izizenze which are short stories and essays, Izimpande, a history of Zulu literature and Imilando YakwaZulu, a drama. Six doctoral theses have been written on his works. He is a founder member of Usiba Writers’ Guild which will be celebrating its twentieth anniversary in August 2005, and is currently a freelance reviewer, editor and translator for publishing firms.


1962. UBheka, Shuter and Shooter.

1970. Ngiyoze Ngimthole, Educum.

1978. The Poetry of B. W. Vilakazi.  Pretoria:  Van Schaik. 
1978. Uthingo lwenkosazana.  Johannesburg:  Educum Publishers.
1980. Ugqozi, 1.  Pretoria:  Van Schaik. 
1985. Ngamafuphi: Izindaba Ezimfushane.  Pretoria:  De Jager-Haum Publishers.
1987. Umtshingo.  Durban:  KwaZulu Booksellers.
1988. Woza Nendlebe.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
1990. Isicamelo: Izindaba Ezimfushane.  Pietermaritzburg:  Reach Out Publishers.
1991. Lalela-ke: Imidlalo yomsakazo.  Pretoria:  Out of Africa Publishers.
1992. Indoni yamanzi - Induku.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter. 
1994. Isibhakabhaka.  Pretoria:  Actua Press.
1996. Amandl'Esam bane.  Durban:  Y Press.
1997. Impilo engcono.  Pretoria:  Kagiso Publishers.
1998. Yekantni Ulzuzenza.  Cape Town:  Kwela Books.
2001. Izinyembezi zothando.  Pietermaritburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
2002. Ugqozi olumaphiko.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.
2002. Imibhalo ka-D.B.Z. Ntuli: Incwadi yokubonga. Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.

2003. Amadlelo aluhlaza.  Pretoria:  Shuter and Shooter.
2003.Amaseko. Heinemann Publishers (Pty) Ltd.

2006. NginguSosobala Mbatha.  Pietermaritzburg:  Shuter and Shooter.

Author Map (Eshowe)

JavaScript must be enabled in order for you to use Google Maps.
However, it seems JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser.
To view Google Maps, enable JavaScript by changing your browser options, and then try again.